Daily Archives: May 15, 2009

Satisfied tummy.

Thanks guys for your advice about my co-workers problem. I think I’ll have to talk to her in a way she does not feel offended. Okay enough of that.

My herb  and veggie garden update:

This morning while watering the plants in my little garden,

I found that my cilantro is sprouting pretty well.

IMG_2345

Among the three herbs, Oregano seems to be doing well! The other two are kinda stunted.

IMG_2342

Tomato and bell pepper are maturing well as well.

IMG_2343

IMG_2344

Eats:

Breakfast:

Yesterdays Smoothie combo, super refreshing.

IMG_2346

Mid morning snack:

Nature valley oats and honey bar

IMG_2347

Lunch:

WW wrap with veggies( Zucchini+ peppers+ onion), carrots sticks and almonds to munch thru the afternoon but ended up just getting them back.

IMG_2348

Some peach passion tea for hydration

IMG_2349

On my way home, I stopped by at Fresh market to pick up a few things

IMG_2350

  • tub of chobani
  • Barney butter
  • Wasabi nuts
  • Slivered almonds
  • Tandoori Vegan masala burgers

So when I cam home I knew I had to try the burgers, I had them without a bun since I am out of bread.

Here it is, pretty okay. Definitely not an absolute winner.

IMG_2351

Since it is Friday, we dine late. To tide me over, I ate about a 1/4 cup of chobani with some orange marmalade and a handful of cheerios + a wasa cracker with some Barney butter.

Dinner: It was a chili and really let me tell ya, it was freakin awesome! I don’t want to sound like someone blowing his own trumpet but it was really good and I have the husbands verdict to bolster!

IMG_2354

Alongside a Cuke and olive salad in balsamic dressing.

IMG_2355

And some wasabi nuts.

IMG_2356

Today has been a really satisfying day foodwise. I enjoyed everything I ate and ate nothing that would make me feel guilty.

I am watching Happy Gilmore as I write this.

Have a great night all, see you guys tomorrow!

Advice needed!

Before I begin explaining the situation to you, I have to say this-Thanks Sanjay for being what you are.

  • For making me feel like the most beautiful girl in the world
  • For loving me even when I am at my worst.
  • For picking me up and giving me your love and care when I am  depressed and having a hard day.
  • For being by Mr. dependable, someone whom I can turn to when I am in a problem
  • For listening to my nonsensical blabbering during our tiffs.( Oh yeah I can dig in deep and fight tooth and nail with him)
  • For overlooking my immaturity sometimes.
  • For being supportive when I needed a career change.
  • For following my passions
  • For being loving and caring towards my family.

There are many more things I can thank him for. This post comes out of a conversation this morning I had with one of my co- worker. The conversation began when she asked me about the Indian traditional dress. I was just explaining her about the same and then showed her my wedding pics. She then jumped over to her boyfriend and told me how sad and unhappy she was. I really felt for her. She has been living with her BF for the past 5 years or so. Last year he was diagnosed with a Kidney ailment and ever since he has been treating her badly.

  • He yells at her for  no reason.
  • Call her names
  • Gets into huge fights which can be heard by the neighbors
  • Is not at all tolerant that she stay in the lab for a minute past 4.
  • Calls her ugly, old and tired.

I asked her if she was happy where her life was headed, she said I have no option we have been living together for so long that now we are “almost” husband and wife. Also she think that people will have a bad impression about her since she is calling the relationship quits when her BF needs her care and support. I have never met him before but from what my other friends tell me he is extremely outgoing with others but gets testy with her.

The problem also is that she has extremely  low self esteem. She told me “I am not pretty and I think my BF is right! I am old ( She is 30) and I feel so tired. Everything was different five years back when I was young  and prettier.”

OMG what was I supposed to do, just sit there like an idiot and say nothing. Also I did not want to utter something that would look like an obvious intrusion. At that point ,I just gave her advice on working on her fitness and improving her personality. I think taking care of herself will not only improve her self confidence but also give her the push to  face the situation accordingly.

That’s it. I did not say any more! I know this is not a solution to her problem, but at least it will help her a bit.

My question to you guys is when faced in a situtaion like this what would be the advice to give or should I just shut my mouth and mind my own buisness?